Professor Antonio Torralba elected 2021 AAAI Fellow

Antonio Torralba faculty head of Artificial Intelligence and Decision Making within the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (EECS) and the Thomas and Gerd Perkins Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science has been selected as a 2021 Fellow by the Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence (AAAI). AAAI Fellows are selected in recollection of their expressive and extended contributions to the field (contributions which typically span a decade or more) including technical results publications obvious awards and contributions to cluster efforts.

Torralba accepted a grade in telecommunications engineering from Telecom BCN in Spain in 1994 and a PhD in eminent image and address processing from the Institut National Polytechnique de Grenoble France in 2000. From 2000 to 2005 he accepted postdoc training at both the Department of Brain and Cognitive Sciences and the Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory (CSAIL) at MIT. From 2017 to 2020 he was the MIT ruler of the MIT-IBM Watson AI Lab and the inaugural ruler of the MIT Quest for Intelligence from 2018 to 2020. He is currently a limb of both CSAIL and the Center for Brains Minds and Machines.

Torralbas investigation primarily focuses upon computer vision machine learning and the challenge of edifice computer systems that copy ethnical visual cognizance; additionally Torralba is interested in neural networks common-sense reasoning computational photography image databases the intersections between visual art and computation and the outgrowth of systems that can discern the globe through multiple senses (including audition and touch).

The creator or co-creator of over 300 papers Torralba has been cited over 71000 times on Google Scholar. He is an companion editor of the International Journal in Computer Vision and served as program chair for the Computer Vision and Pattern Recognition discussion in 2015. He has accepted the 2008 National Science Foundation Career Award the Best Student Paper Award at the IEEE Conference on Computer Vision and Pattern Recognition in 2009 and the 2010 J. K. Aggarwal Prize from the International Association for Pattern Recognition. In 2017 he accepted the Frank Quick Faculty Research Innovation Fellowship and the Louis D. Smullin (39) Award for Teaching Excellence. Earlier in 2020 he accepted the PAMI Mark Everingham Prize.